Racing for Dan and Jill!

22 Jul

Racing for those who can’t!

 

The last few weeks for me have been very emotional; they have been tough but also filled with a lot of joy. These last few weeks have also reminded me how precious life is, and how you really need to take time and enjoy your friends and not look into the future and put things off but yet make time to see your friends, spend time with them and embrace and enjoy life like it could end at any minute.

 

Back in May my good friend Dan went into the hospital with some headaches and tremors in his hands. After several tests they found out he has a brain tumor. So surgery got scheduled in early July at the Mayo clinic in Rochester MN. They were able to take 30-40% of the tumor but during surgery Dan started having some seizures so they had to stop. They tested that stuff they removed and it is cancer. The positive news was it’s a low grade cancer so other treatments like chemotherapy should be very receptive and hopefully he will be cancer free eventually and back to living life as he once did running and biking at full strength.

 

Then a couple weeks ago, my friend Jill (also an athlete I coach) was doing the Life Time MPLS Triathlon down at Lake Nokomis.  My daughter Bella also did this race and so that morning Jill and Bella and I had been hanging on the beach. I gave Jill a hug just before she jumped in the water and started swimming, and that was the last hug I have given her. Because during the race when she was out on the bike she got into a very bad severe crash they had to call the ambulance and take her to HCMC for surgery ASAP! Because she got a concussion with bleeding around the brain, fractured ribs and a lot of cuts and bruises. Jill went through a week in the ICU, then released to another hospital to begin rehab, and since has been released to home and is doing outpatient rehab now. Her recovery his going well because Jill is a strong athlete with a lot of heart! And I know she is bound and determined to get over this hurdle and back to normal life soon!

 

So there you have it two very tragic and sad events that are keeping two people I love from doing what they love!  Jill had been training so hard this season and was scheduled to race her first 70.3 distance Triathlon this weekend! I know she is sad to not be racing alongside her friends and teammates this weekend! But the rest of us will be heading North and ready to put it on the line for her!  Then last week an even more amazing thing happened! The kind of human spirit story we need more of in this world! Friends of Jill’s teammates of Jill’s with my group Gotta Have Heart Training took it upon themselves to get signed up as a Relay team and do the 70.3 distance Triathlon in Jill’s name and honor.  Steve will do the 1.2 mile swim, Manuela the 56 mile bike, and Todd the 13.1 mile run. This simply makes my soul glow! Very proud of these kids to take on this challenge!

 

As for myself as I head into this race feeling good and feeling ready to throw down and race! I will carry in my heart and in my soul the thoughts of Dan and Jill!  My good friends that are fighting a different fight right now, I will race on my limits in their honor because they can’t race right now. And when times get tough and when I’m hurting and I promise you I will be hurting. I will think of them and dig deep and push harder!  I feel blessed to have such good friends, to have so many wonderful people around me that support me and believe in me. I believe in myself and my training and mental toughness and this weekend when I compete I feel I have some extra motivation and push from my friends Dan and Jill!

I have not done a 70.3 distance race in a couple years, but have done several in the past along with full distances Ironman’s so I am not so worried about the distance all though it will be a grind! I’m just excited to represent Team Gotta Have Heart! And Dan and Jill!

 

So good luck to all the amazing athletes racing this weekend at the Toughman 70.3 or Sprint Triathlon, be safe have fun and enjoy the journey!

Dan and Jill… game on let’s do this thing!! I will be thinking of you often during my time on the course and my goal is to make you proud!

 

Many prayers and thoughts to my friends and to all the people out there suffering and being held back from doing what they love and enjoying their passions.  My positive vibes are coming your way! Stay focused on recovery and soon you will all be back!! God bless you all!

Cheers

Coach MB

team with dan and jill posters 

Leave a comment