Tomorrow is a new day… a fresh start

12 Jul

I have always been delighted at the prospect of a new day, a fresh start, one more start, with perhaps a bit of magic waiting somewhere behind the morning.

– J.B. Priestly

That quote was emailed to me this morning and it struck a chord with me. I think about that exact saying all the time and often say words along those lines to athletes I coach.

As athletes, as people we often have days or workouts that just don’t go as planned. Sometimes we really dwell on those bad workouts and let them get into our head and affect our training or our race. What we have to do is remember each day is a new day, each day brings us a chance to start over and make that fresh start forget about the bad workout and focus on the new workout in front of us and making the most of that one.

We will have days when things get out of our control and when that happens we just have to shrug it off. Like this season it seems every time I race the weather is really, really hot! And thus not allowing me to have the type of performance I’m truly capable of. But I don’t let that bother me and I just go out and deal with what is given to me and make the most of it. Then I wake up the next day with a fresh perspective on things and a new day saying here we go and hoping that little bit of magic will be there waiting for me to make it even more special day.

So have a wonderful day, know that when you have a bad day it’s not the end of the world and just focus on waking up the next day with a fresh start putting the past behind you and moving on always going forward. As I like to say “Relentless forward motion” if you think that way maybe that little bit of magic will appear and make that new day even that much better.

Cheers
MB

So what have I been up to the last week or so since my last blog post? And by the way sorry in my delay of writing it has been so busy. Real Estate is going well selling houses, showing homes, listing homes etc… busy coaching runners and Triathlete’s for upcoming races.
Working on some new endeavors that details will be forthcoming.
My workouts have been pretty good, I feel the speed in my body all though my body is tired so I’m really enjoying my rest day today. I did race what was supposed to be a 10k on July 4th and cut to a 5k because of extreme heat. I won my age group that day but my time was slow a 17:24. My open water swims have been feeling good and speedy, my bike times are flying and I’ve been logging a lot of miles on the bike which I love. My runs feel really good and running miles in the 5:45 range feels easy even after a 45-50 mile bike ride. So I’m optimistic about my race this weekend that even in 93 degree weather I will be ready to go and light it up!
In the words of Ricky Bobby “If you ain’t first your last”

O yeah and back on June 29th I saw Brendan Benson at the Varsity Theater amazing show!! If you are not familiar with Brendan you need to check him out!!

Leave a comment